Canada's Walk of Fame
Canada's Walk of Fame

Walk of Fame Steps Up Its Game

Global pop star Michael Bublé, sportscasters Don Cherry and Ron MacLean, author Laurence Hill, actors Wendy Crewson and Lorne Greene, and Olympian Silken Laumann, will be the latest inductees to Canada's Walk of Fame this fall.

Organizers unveiled this year's list of honourees in Toronto Tuesday.

Greene is being recognized as a Cineplex Legends Inductee, a posthumous honour for a Canadian pioneer from the world of film, television, music, sports, arts or innovation.

Additionally, teen pop star Shawn Mendes will receive the Allan Slaight Award for inspirational young Canadians who have achieved international success.

"Our mission at Canada's Walk of Fame is simple — to celebrate Canadian excellence, and to inspire the next generation," Walk of Fame CEO Melanie Hurley said in a statement.

"This year's inductees truly represent this mission, and the legacy they are creating for Canada is something we should all be proud of."

All of the inductees will be honoured at a ceremony hosted by actor/director Jason Priestley, a past inductee, on Nov. 7th at the Sony Centre for the Performing Arts.

The event will be televised on Dec. 17th at 8 p.m. on Global.

Crewson — with more than 100 roles to her credit and who appeared in two features at the 2015 Toronto International Film Festival, Room and Into the Forest — attended the event and  took a veiled shot at the Harper government when she encouraged Canadians to consider voting for parties that support arts and culture funding in the federal election on Oct. 19th.

“I think that arts funding is (important) and there are certain parties that are more prone to arts funding than others. That’s why I encourage everyone to vote for culture because our voice is important, our stories are important and our cultural identity is something that needs to be protected,” Crewson said.


Canada's Walk of Fame (French: Allée des célébrités canadiennes) acknowledges the achievements and accomplishments of successful Canadians. It consists of a series of maple leaf-like stars embedded in 13 designated blocks of sidewalks in Toronto, located in front of Roy Thomson Hall, The Princess of Wales Theatre, and The Royal Alexandra Theatre on King Street as well as Simcoe Street. The first group of members was inducted in 1998. These Inductees include athletes; coaches; actors, directors, writers and producers of movies, television and stage; singers, songwriters and musicians; playwrights; authors; comedians; cartoonists and models. The Canada's Walk of Fame Festival was established in 2010. The festival spans 3 days, culminating with the Canada's Walk of Fame Awards Show. More about this year's Festival events can be found here.

Leave a comment