ECMA Award Winners Announced

The 2016 Eastlink East Coast Music Awards Show were held in Sydney, NS, last night, and some major figures in Maritimes music were honoured.

Hey Rosetta!, Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy, and Amelia Curran were among the artists who took home ECMAs at Centre 200 in Sydney, NS. City Natives, Jenn Grant, Everglow, Joey Robin Haché, Christina Martin, and Coyote were also honoured during the live national broadcast hosted by Heather Rankin and Ashley MacIsaac.

ECMA Executive Director, Andy McLean was enthusiastic about the night. In a press release he noted that it was “ an amazing show! Congratulations to all of the winners, and thank you to Heather Rankin and Ashley MacIsaac for hosting what was surely one of the most entertaining East Coast Music Awards ever.”

"Once again, the Awards Show proved to be a great kick off to ECMW. There are so many more showcases and special events happening throughout the week, so make sure to get tickets and wristbands while you can!"

The Award Show also paid special tribute to the late Ron Hynes in a performance featuring Bruce Guthro, Lennie Gallant, Amelia Curran, The Ennis Sisters, Ken Tizzard, Paul "Boomer" Stamp, Sandy Morris, Paul Kinsman, and Glenn Simmons.
Amidst performances from artists such as Hey Rosetta!, Jenn Grant, Fortunate Ones, City Natives, Heather Rankin, Ashley MacIsaac, Neon Dreams, Ben Caplan, Christina Martin, Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy, The East Pointers, and Raphaël Butler, the following ECMAs were presented:


Aboriginal Artist of the Year

City Natives - Voltron

Album of the Year

Hey Rosetta! - Second Sight 
(Producer: Marcus Paquin)

Songwriter of the Year
Amelia Curran

Group Recording of the Year
Hey Rosetta! - Second Sight

Traditional Instrumental Recording of the Year
Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy - One

Solo Recording of the Year 
Jenn Grant - Compostela

Song of the Year 
Hey Rosetta! -"Soft Offering (For the Oft Suffering)"

(Producer: Marcus Paquin)

Fans' Choice Entertainer of the Year

Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy

Fans' Choice Video of the Year 
Everglow - "Feel Your Heart" 
(Director: Devin Sooley)

Enregistrement francophone de l'année
Joey Robin Haché - Repaver l'âme

Pop Recording of the Year - *TIE* 
Coyote - Proof of Life 
Christina Martin - It'll Be Alright

The remainder of the 2016 East Coast Music Awards, including the Industry Awards, will be handed out over the course of the weekend as the festival continues in Sydney, NS.

For more info, go to

The East Coast Music Association (ECMA) is a regional collaboration of people in the music industry of Atlantic Canada that fosters, develops and celebrates East Coast music and its artists locally, regionally, nationally and internationally. The ECMA annually produces one of the top music industry events in Canada, Eastlink East Coast Music Week, which includes Awards, a Festival, an Industry Conference and the International Export Buyers Program. ECMA and its programs are generously funded by the Government of Canada through the International Business Development Agreement (represented by Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, and Industry Canada), the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canada Music Fund), the four provincial governments in Atlantic Canada, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, and MUSICACTION. ECMA recognizes the support of  the province of Nova Scotia, the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, ECMW Title Sponsor Eastlink, Nova Scotia Provincial Lotteries and Casino Corporation, The Membertou Trade and Convention Centre, Gold Partners Molson Canadian, Newcap Radio, TD Bank Group, and The Cape Breton Post.

This project is funded in part by FACTOR, the Government of Canada and Canada’s private radio broadcasters.







Leave a comment