Safia Nolin, the New Discovery who has taken the province by storm
Safia Nolin, the New Discovery who has taken the province by storm

Celine's Late Husband Honoured, Jean Leloup Grand Winner At Last Night's Quebec Music Awards

Quebec's 38th Adisq Gala, held Sunday evening at Montreal's Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier of Place des Arts, acknowledged a handful of career-tested provincial stars, among them rocker Jean Leloup, pop star Marie-Mai, folk-rock ensemble Les Soeurs Boulay, rock band Les Cowboys Fringants, dual winners 2Frères, comic-turned-songwriter Marc Dupré, and storyteller Fred Pellerin.

The evening also offered a touching tribute to Celine Dion's late mentor, manager and husband Rene Angélil that included his widow taking the stage to state that he was “not only one of the greatest visionaries of the Quebec music industry. He was also one of the biggest fans of musical artists that ever existed. He had an immense respect for people who had that passion.… René always thought of others before he thought of himself.”

Backstage, after the gala, Dion was poised and eloquent, saying she was touched by the tribute. “Of course it was a great honour for me to receive trophies over the years, but to be here to receive a trophy that’s not for me, that’s even more touching,” she said. “He’s not physically present, but I’m sure he’s here tonight. I don’t think he missed any of this, and I’m sure he’s very proud.”

On Thursday night, at Le Premier Gala,  Coeur de pirate won anglophone album of the year for her bilingual album Roses, Half Moon Run earned honour as the act with the most success outside of Quebec, and Patrick Watson’s Love Songs for Robots was anointed with the anglophone show of the year gong.

Hugely popular rapper Koriass’s critically acclaimed Love Suprême won the hip-hop album trophy, rail fan Erik West-Millette’s Trainz was named instrumental album, and enthusiastically-followed comic and musician François Pérusse won in the bestselling album category for L’Album du peuple: Tome 10.

And the 2016 Adisq Award winners are:

Safia Nolin - Discovery of the Year

Jean Leloup -- Male Artist, for his album Paradise City

Jean Leloup -- Show of the Year as author/songwriter: Jean Leloup Solo - The Ghost of Paradise City

Fred Pellerin -- Performer/artist, for Later You Think 

Marie-Mai -- Female Artist

Fred Fortin -- Composer, for Ultramarr

2Frères -- Group/Duo

2Frères -- Pop Album, for Nous Autres

Les Cowboys Fringants -- Rock Album, for Octobre

Les Soeurs Boulay -- Folk Album, for 4488 de l'Amour

Koriass -- Hip-hop Album, for Love Suprême

Erik West-Millette -- Instrumental Album, for Trainz

François Pérusse -- Best Selling Album, for L’Album du peuple: Tome 10

Marc Dupré -- Song, for "Ton Départ" (Your Departure)

FME Festival de musique émergente -- Event

Diane Tell -- Income from Streaming

René Angélil -- Honourary Felix



Leave a comment