Classified, Ria Mae Frontrunners For ECMAs

St. John: The East Coast Music Association announced the 2017 ECMA nominees at Market Square in the island Port City on Tuesday.

The awards show, hosted by comedian Jamie Mullinger, will be held April 27 at Harbour Station.

Headling the list with nine nominations is Classified, followed by Ria Mae. Repartee has five, and Caroline Savoie, Les Hôtesses d'Hilaire, The Motorleague, Ben Caplan, Erin Costelo, and Paper Lions have each garnered four.

"Announcing the East Coast Music Awards nominations is always one of the most exciting things we get to do each year. This year's nominees feature legendary East Coast acts as well as some of our region's most exciting up-and-coming artists," Andy McLean, ECMA Executive Director, told an enthusiastic audience at the announcement.

"Plus," he added, "we've got so much more amazing news to share, including our festival showcasing lineup, the SOCAN Song House, and the list goes on. We're thrilled to be coming back to Saint John for the first time in 15 years."

Announced performers for the awards gala include Classified & David Myles, Paper Lions, Reeny Smith, Ria Mae, Lisa LeBlanc, Jason Benoit, Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire, Caroline Savoie, REPARTEE, Tomato/Tomato, Gordie MacKeeman & His Rhythm Boys, Còig, The Motorleague, and Adam Baldwin.

This year, the ECMAs will be broadcast on Bell Aliant’s TV1 platform and to Bell Fibe TV subscribers, as well as streamed online, free of charge, at

The list of artists who will showcase on various stages during East Coast Music Week is a long and impressive one.

As previously mentioned in FYI, the ECMA Big Ticket show this year is headlined by Matt Andersen, with Ian Janes in support.

A Songwriters Circle concert hosted by Lennie Gallant features Dave Gunning, Erin Costelo, Quake Matthews, RyLee Madison, Thom Swift, Tomato/Tomato, and Tristan Horncastle.

A Bluebird North event hosted by Jessica Rhaye and Adyn Townes will showcase Alana Yorke, Dave Sampson, Dylan Menzie, Jason Benoit, Kim Harris, Makayla Lynn, Mike McKenna Jr., and Simon Daniel.

The Export Buyers Stage will place the spotlight on such East Coast stars as Adam Baldwin, Caroline Savoie, City Natives, Còig, Dave Gunning, David Myles, Duane Andrews, Erin CosteloGordie MacKeeman and His Rhythm Boys, Hillsburn, Lennie Gallant,  The Motorleague, Paper Lions, Quake Matthews, ReparteeThe Town Heroes, and Vishtèn.

Other notables showcasing include Cassie Josephine and Gabriel Minnikin, The Divorcees, David in the Dark, Dennis Ellsworth, Heather Rankin, Port Cities, Quiet Parade, Rain Over St. Ambrose, The Stanfields, and Willie Stratton.

A full list of East Coast Music Award nominees here.

The 2017 Fans’ Choice Awards, sponsored by The Telegraph Journal, is now open for voting hereThe public can vote once a day until March 15 at 5PM AST.


Leave a comment