Sumo Cyco: Move Mountains

Sumo Cyco - "Move Mountains" ( Radio Ghost Music): A label bio describes the sound of this Toronto band as "hard-rock punk-metal," which certainly covers the bases.

The combo is led by Skye "Sever" Sweetnam, who has undergone a radical stylistic transformation. As a teen-pop singer/songwriter, she signed to Capitol Records and EMI (Sony/ATV) Publishing at the age of fourteen, and went on to earn a Juno nomination and open a major Britney Spears tour. She collaborated with hit makers such as Dr. Luke, Max Martin, The Matrix and Tim Armstrong (Rancid), but then detoured into aggressive rock with Sumo Cyco.

The group has  released over a dozen digital singles to date alongside grindhouse-esque movie videos, which have attracted over 2.9 million Youtube views and counting.  A crowdfunded second album, Opus Mar, set for release on March 31, preceded by new single "Move Mountains." The album is produced by Matt Drake (illScarlett) and James “LeRock” Loughrey (Skindred, Joss Stone).

The fiery and adrenalized track features Skindred's Benji Webbe on guest vocals alongside Sever. Not sure if it can move mountains, but the sonic assault could likely strip paint. The accompanying video is similarly kinetic.



Leave a comment