Jim and Bryan, many moons ago
Jim and Bryan, many moons ago

SOCAN Salutes Adams, Vallance At Upcoming Gala

The SOCAN Achievement Award winners list is an impressive one, and on June 19 a gala will be celebrating their artistic endevour and successes. 

Heading the winners of the SOCAN Lifetime Achievement Award is the songwriting team of Bryan Adams and Jim Vallance, described by SOCAN as "Canada's greatest songwriting duo of the last 30 years."

Another prestigious honour, the SOCAN Cultural Impact Award, goes to Andy Kim, for his global 1969 hit, "Sugar, Sugar." The song was co-written by Jeff Barry and Andy Kim and originally recorded by the Archies, a band formed by a group of fictional teenagers in the television cartoon series The Archie Show.

It reached number one in the US on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1969 and stuck there for four weeks, and topped the UK Singles chart for eight. In Canada, it reached No. 1 on the RPM 100 national singles chart on September 13, 1969, remaining there for three weeks. It was classified gold (one million copies sold) in the US by the RIAA in Aug. 1969, and is listed at No. 78 on Billboard's all-time singles chart.

In 1970, soul singer Wilson Pickett had a moderate hit with his version (No. 4 on the R&B chart, No. 25 on the Pop chart). 

The 2017 SOCAN Songwriter of the Year Award will be presented to Nineteen85. The Grammy-winning Scarborough-based producer has collaborated on many of Drake's biggest songs, including "One Dance," "Hotline Bling," and "Hold On, We're Going Home," as well hits by Nicki Minaj, Jennifer Hudson and Majid Jordan. 

Born Anthony Paul Jefferies, he won ASCAP Music Awards in 2014 and 2015. He is also a member of the R&B duo dvsn.

Hit BC band Hedley will receive the SOCAN National Achievement Award for an impressive track record of smash hits and a string of successful homeland tours. 

Formed in 2003 in Abbotsford, Hedley first made its mark on the Canadian Idol. The group has gone on to record six studio albums, with two albums (Hedley and The Show Must Go) earning double-platinum status. The band's 2011's Storms won a Juno for Best Pop Album the following year.

Other awards will go to recent Juno-winner Ruth B, country star Jess Moskaluke, global pop star Shawn Mendes, and alternative R&B sensation Alessia Cara.

The SOCAN Achievement award winners are determined collaboratively between the Membership Committee of the PRO's Board of Directors and individuals in the Membership department.

More than 50 awards will be presented on the night for success in songwriting, composing and music publishing based on SOCAN data compiled over the last calendar year.

In a press release, SOCAN CEO Eric Baptiste states that "nowhere in Canada is such diversity of music creation and publishing celebrated as exuberantly as at the SOCAN Awards. We will be honouring lifetime careers, recent bursts of global success, culturally significant songs and compositions and the business acumen of music publishers in equal measure. As with our counterpart awards gala in Montréal, the SOCANs are a night that is unique in the Canadian music ecosystem."

The SOCANs will include live performances by Ron Sexsmith; Derin Falana and Tay of The Remix Project; Juno-winning alt-rockers July Talk; Jess Moskaluke; film and television composer Keith Power; DJ-singer-songwriter-producer Shaun Frank; dance/electronic artist Delaney Jane; Ruth B; and a few surprise special guests. The show will be hosted by TV and radio personality Arisa Cox.

Leave a comment