PUP Photo: Vanessa Heins
PUP Photo: Vanessa Heins

Pup Wins $10K In The 12th Annual English SOCAN Songwriting Prize

Toronto-based punk band Pup has won the 12th annual English SOCAN Songwriting Prize for their song "DVP," the pro announced today.

The song was written by band members Stefan Babcock, Nestor Chumak, Zachary Mykula, and Steven Sladkowski.

The SOCAN Songwriting Prize recognizes emerging songwriters by identifying 10 outstanding songs created over the past year, as selected by a panel of 15 esteemed music industry experts. The general public is then invited to vote daily for their favourite to determine the winner.

Pup receives a $10,000 cash prize along with a Yamaha PSR-S970 Keyboard, an Epiphone Masterbilt Century Olympic Guitar, and a $500 gift card from Long & McQuade.

In a press release, Babcock states "we are extremely grateful to have been considered for this songwriting award. We have tremendous respect for the other nine artists who were shortlisted - they've all spent countless hours and sleepless nights cutting their teeth and fretting over each and every tiny detail of their songs, and we are proud to be in their company."

"Although only one song can win we are thrilled to present the opportunity to place a spotlight on and celebrate some of Canada's next and best music creators," said Michael McCarty, SOCAN Chief Membership & Business Development Officer. "'DVP' is a frenetically brilliant and creative song, and we wish Stefan, Nestor, Zach and Steve continued success and accolades in what is sure to be a long and prosperous career."

The other nine song nominees in the English category came from such notable artists as July Talk, The Strumbellas, Kaytranada, River Tiber and Weaves.

The winners of the Prix de la chanson SOCAN were Klô Pelgag and Karl Gagnon for their song "Les ferrofluides-fleurs," as performed by Klô Pelgag.

The 2016 winner of the SOCAN Songwriting Prize was Fast Romantics for "Julia," written by band member Matthew Angus. 



Leave a comment