Rush (Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart and Geddy Lee) was a Modern Era inductee to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2010
Rush (Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart and Geddy Lee) was a Modern Era inductee to the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2010

CSHF Adds More Gala Performers To Stellar Lineup

The already impressive lineup for the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (CSHF) 2017 bilingual Induction Ceremony at Massey Hall in Toronto on Sept. 23 just got even better. Joining previously announced performers Arkells, Blackie and the Rodeo Kings, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Damien Robitaille, Daniel Lavoie, Don Ross, Élage Diouf, France D'amour, Florence K, Julie Payette, k.d. lang, Randy Bachman, William Prince and Whitehorse will be Hawksley Workman, Jessica Mitchell, Eh440, Elisapie, Lisa LeBlanc, Yann Perreau and Ruth B.

These artists will unite to honour this year's four new inductees into the CSHF: Beau Dommage, Bruce Cockburn, Neil Young and Stéphane Venne.

Vanessa Thomas, Executive Director, CSHF, states in a press release that "We spend our days, with our heads down, deep in the logistics of putting this many artists on stage. Sometimes I just look at the performer list in amazement and cannot believe what a historic gathering this will be for both French and English cultures in Canada. It's very exciting."

Thomas informs that we can expect the unexpected. "The show is 2 hrs 15 minutes, and performers come and go, some making multiple appearances in various roles. There are no hosts, as all the guest musicians tell stories and introduce each other. It is a completely new format with very high production values, a very casual warm evening among friends. The form of conveyance will include the net and radio, and CBC will show parts of performances in a future TV broadcast."

She and her team deserve kudos for assembling such a strong cast, and keeping ticket costs at an affordable level. They can be obtained at and

The Massey Hall show will be livestreamed at starting at 7:30 p.m. ET on Sept. 23. 

In other CSHF news, the org has announced that 2017 will mark the first year of The Slaight Music Emerging Songwriter Award. The prize is designed to encourageand support the development of two songwriters on an upward trajectory in their careers and will be highlighted at the induction ceremony. 

The CSHF is a national, bilingual, non-profit organization, founded to honour and celebrate Canadian songwriters. Since 2003, the CSHF has held seven highly successful induction ceremonies focusing on the unique craft of the song and celebrating the value of music in our society. This year's induction ceremony will be recorded for later broadcast by CBC Music and ICI Musique.

Leave a comment