Robert Charlebois To Be Celebrated At SOCAN Montreal Gala

For the first time in the history of the Gala de la SOCAN, two special achievement awards will be presented to one creator when Robert Charlebois is presented with both the Lifetime Achievement Award and, with co-writer Claude Péloquin, the Cultural Impact Award on October 16 in Montreal.

Nearly 50 awards in total will be presented at the event that salutes the best and most successful in music creation and publishing.

Monique Leyrac will receive the SOCAN Special Achievement Award; the SOCAN International Achievement Award will go to Cristobal Tapia de Veer—the composer whose work has earned him awards all over the world; John Nathaniel, SOCAN Songwriter of the Year; Michel Corriveau, who will receive the first SOCAN AV Composer of the Year Award; and Éditorial Avenue will receive the SOCAN Publisher of the Year Award for leadership in the industry.

“It is of the utmost importance for SOCAN to celebrate the excellence and wonderful diversity of its music creator and publisher members like Éditorial Avenue, one of the most import publishers in the country,” said SOCAN CEO, Eric Baptiste. “The 2017 Gala de la SOCAN will highlight, more than ever, several generations of artists, from Charlebois to the Dead Obies, France D’Amour to Half Moon Run, and the diversity of musical genres, from pop to rap, electronic music to country, and new classical music.”

In addition to Popular Song Awards, for the greatest number of domestic performances during 2016, several songs will be officially designated SOCAN Classics for achieving 25,000 radio plays, including Claude Dubois for two songs from of his immense repertoire, and France D’Amour and Luc de Larochellière each will see three of their works attain SOCAN Classic status. SOCAN Classics record-holder Luc Plamondon will earn another two, and iconic Montréal band, The Box, will receive one.

Among the artists who will perform during the gala are Vincent Vallières, Diane Tell, Canailles, Beyries and Émile Bilodeau.

Special Achievement award winners will be presented with ‘The SOCAN’ —the first and only major music inductees trophy that is also a musical instrument. The trophy's five crotales – made by Sabian of New Brunswick – this year are custom-tuned to the first notes of Robert Charlebois’s "Je reviendrai à Montréal," a nod to Montréal’s 375th anniversary.

The complete list of winners at the 2017 Gala de la SOCAN will be released during the evening of October 16th.

Leave a comment