album cover graphic
album cover graphic

​​​​​​​Born Ruffians: Forget Me

Born Ruffians -"Forget Me" (Paper Bag Records): These Toronto indie rockers have just revealed Feb. 16 as the release date for their next full-length album, Uncle, Duke & The Chief.

The group's new single, "Forget Me" was written by singer/lyricist Luke Lalonde on the day David Bowie died, and it addresses the theme of mortality. In a label press release, Lalonde explains that “It’s about how the light is something that you should embrace and feel okay going towards it. We’re all doing this together; we’re all on the same path—it’s just that some of us are ahead of others.”

Fittingly, the acoustic guitar and voice setting of the song gives it something of an early Bowie sound. There's not a lot of dynamic progression on the tune that will be the opening track on the Richard Swift-produced album, but it is an affecting tune.

An evocative and poignant video clip for "Forget Me" is co-directed by Leah Fay Goldstein and Peter Dreimanis of July Talk.

Born Ruffians have recently completed a North American tour with The New Pornographers that was capped with a Massey Hall concert.

Uncle, Duke & The Chief will be the fifth full-length album from the group. Born Ruffians formed in Midland, ON, in 2002, at first under the name of Mornington Drive. They have toured the UK, Europe, Australia and North America.

Leave a comment