Danny Michel aboard the Russian icebreaker
Danny Michel aboard the Russian icebreaker

Danny Michel Comes Out A Big Winner At CFMAs

Singer-songwriter Danny Michel was a multiple winner at this year’s Canadian Folk Music Awards staged Saturday and Sunday at the Bronson Centre in Ottawa.

Michel’s icebreaker-inspired album, Khlebnikov, was honoured with two prizes. 

Written and recorded during an Arctic expedition aboard a Russian icebreaker, at the invitation of astronaut Chris Hadfield, the album earned the Oliver Schroer Pushing The Boundaries award, an accolade that goes to music not easily categorized. Michel and collaborator Rob Carli were also named producers of the year for their work on it.

Ontario singer-songwriter and Berklee grad Ken Yates emerged as one of the weekend’s big winners when his second full-length album, Huntsville, earned two awards. The musician was declared the year’s best new/emerging songwriter on Sunday, while his Jim Bryson-produced album took the English songwriter of the year award during Saturday’s ceremony.

Other winners Saturday:

Fred Penner won the Children’s Album of the Year category for his album Hear the Music

Stephen Fearing won for Contemporary Singer of the Year for his album Every Soul’s A Sailor

Leeroy Stagger won Solo Artist of the Year for his album Love Versus

Luc de Larochellière won in the French Songwriter of the Year category for his album Autre Monde.

Ken Yates won in the English Songwriter of the Year category for his album Huntsville.

Twin Flames won in the Aboriginal Songwriter category with the album Signal Fire

Kobo Town won in the World Group category for the album Where The Galleon Sank.

The Slaight Music Unsung Hero Award was given to Newfoundland’s much-loved Gerry Strong for his contributions to the folk music scene. The annual legacy award recognizes exceptional contributions to any aspect of Canadian folk music. Strong is a musician, festival founder and tireless volunteer who is considered one of the pioneers of the province’s traditional music revival. 

Announced as winners on Sunday were:

Moscow Apartment won as Young Performers of the Year for their album Demo.

André Brunet won in the Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year category for the album La grosse maison rouge.

Scott MacMillan & Colin Grant won in the Instrumental Group of the Year category for the album Good2Go.

Abigail Lapell won in the Contemporary Album of the Year category for her release Hide Nor Hair.

Louis Simão won in the World Solo Album of the Year category for A Luz (A Light).

Cassie and Maggie won in the Traditional Album of the Year category for The Willow Collection.

Coco Méliès won Vocal Album of the Year for The Riddle.

Hannah Shira Naiman won in the Traditional Singer of the Year category for her album Know The Mountain.

Mama's Broke won in the Ensemble of the Year category for their album Count The Wicked.

Leave a comment