Young's Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere named a prize winner
Young's Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere named a prize winner

2018 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize Winners Named

This prestigious Prize honours Canadian albums from four pre-Polaris Music Prize eras. This year's list features the return of Neil Young and Rush, with Broken Social Scene, Dream Warriors, Bruce Cockburn, and others making a debut appearance. The winners of the Prize, supported by Re:Sound, and awarded by public and juried votes, are as set out below.


Public: Neil Young – Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere

Jury: Jean-Pierre Ferland - Jaune

1976 – 1985

Public: Rush - 2112

Jury: Bruce Cockburn – Stealing Fire


Public: Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill

Jury: Dream Warriors – And Now the Legacy Begins


Public: Broken Social Scene – You Forgot It In People

Jury: Kid Koala - Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

These will be the second albums from Neil Young and Rush to receive Heritage Prize designation. All other acts are receiving their first such recognition.

The winners were chosen from four short lists, each representing a different musical era and curated by a Heritage Prize jury of music historians and music media. Two winners for each era were chosen — one by public vote and one by the jury.

Leave a comment