Sandy Pandya. Pic by Heather Pollock
Sandy Pandya. Pic by Heather Pollock

MMF Honour Roll Recipients Named

Music Managers Forum Canada (MMF) has announced the recipients of the 2019 Honour Roll Awards. The Honour Roll Awards, which honors achievement in Canada’s music management industry, will be presented during a ceremony on May 7 as part of Canadian Music Week.

This year’s Honor Roll Award will go to Sandy Pandya, a music management veteran with more than 20 years experience in the industry.

In announcing Pandya as the recipient for 2019, the MMF said: “Pandya paved her own lane in the Canadian music industry, cementing herself as a leader and advancing the careers of the artists she represents. Her passion for music and inability to accept the word “no” supported her affinity for championing underdogs, which afforded her a career spanning over 20 years and counting.”

Previous recipients of the Honour Roll Award include Susan de Cartier (2018), Chris Smith (2017), Lorne Saifer (2016), Rob Lanni & Eric Lawrence (2015), Gilles Paquin (2014), Jake Gold (2013), Larry Wanagas (2012), Terry McBride (2011), Sam Feldman (2010), Ray Danniels (2009), Bruce Allen (2008), and Bernie Finkelstein (2007).

Longtime music manager Ron Sakamoto, founder of Gold & Gold Productions Ltd., and the Sakamoto Agency is named as the 2019 recipient of The Brian Chater Pioneer Award, which honours individuals who have been instrumental in creating the framework for music management in the Canadian entertainment industry.

Previous recipients of the Brian Chater Pioneer Award include Riley O’Connor (2018), Duff Roman (2017) Michael Cohl (2016), Pegi Cecconi (2015), Brian Chater (2014), Neill Dixon & Steve Propas (2013), Donald Tarlton & Terry Flood (2012), Mary Martin (2011) and Leonard Rambeau (2010).

As well, the MMF announced that the 2019 Banner Year Award will go to Arkells and their team, including Entertainment One’s Chris Taylor, Ashley Poitevin, and Sarah Osgoode.

Previous recipients of the Banner Year Award include Daniel Caesar, Matthew Burnett, Jordan Evans (2017), Joanne Setterington & The Strumbellas (2017), Tony Sal & The Weeknd (2016).

Now in its 13th year, the MMF Honor Roll awards are held at the held at Bymark Restaurant in Toronto. Tickets can be purchased here.

Leave a comment