Four Named To Juno Hall of Fame

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) today announced four legendary Canadian artists will join The Canadian Music Hall of Fame. The 2020 inductees are Andy Kim, Bobby Curtola (posthumously), Chilliwack, and Cowboy Junkies.

The newest inductees are to be celebrated at an industry event on Sunday, October 27 at Studio Bell, home of the National Music Centre in Calgary.

An hour-long special showcasing the event will be available to stream November 2, exclusively on CBC Gem. A second special highlighting the Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductees with in-depth interviews will air as part of Music Day on CBC, broadcasting Sunday, March 15, 2020, ahead of the 2020 Juno Awards live telecast that night from Saskatoon’s SaskTel Centre on the national pubcaster.

The Canadian Music Hall of Fame was established in 1978 by the CARAS to honour Canadian musicians for their lifetime achievements in music. A total of 51 acts have been named to the Hall so far, starting with Guy Lombardo and Oscar Peters0n in 1951, and Corey Hart in 2019.

“We are very proud to welcome these four highly deserving artists into The Canadian Music Hall of Fame,” said Allan Reid, President & CEO, CARAS. “Canada has such incredible talent represented on the international stage, and The Canadian Music Hall of Fame Ceremony, Presented by Music Canada, will help us recognize and honour these individuals for all of their artistic contributions to the cultural fabric of our country.”

The MusiCounts Inspired Minds Ambassador Award (MIMAA), presented by the Canadian Scholarship Trust Foundation will also be handed out during the Canadian Music Hall of Fame Ceremony. The award recognizes an individual who has had an extraordinary impact on education and the charity throughout its history. The MIMAA recipient will be announced in the coming weeks.

Leave a comment