The belle of the ball, Alessia Cara
The belle of the ball, Alessia Cara

Alessia Cara, Avril Lavigne Amongst Juno 2020 Award Winners

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) honoured and celebrated the Canadian music industry’s rising stars and returning favourites in Monday night’s virtual broadcast of The Junos Presented by TD.  Featuring a lineup of guest presenters, the event, now available to stream on the free CBC Gem streaming service, CBC Music’s Facebook, YouTube and Twitter pages, and for audiences around the world at, announced 42 Awards with performances by Alessia Cara, iskwē, Neon Dreams, and The Dead South, all winners on the night.

The 90-minute show was smoothly executed, with the lists of nominees and winners read out by presenters that included artists and CBC hosts. CARAS head Allan Reid led off the show with a pledge that CARAS and the Juno Awards will help fight racism, with details of an action plan to be announced in July. CBC host Odario Williams and Damhnait Doyle echoed his sentiments and paid homage to pioneering Canadian black and Indigenous artists.
Alessia Cara's evening was triumphant, earning her Album and Pop Album of the Year wins for The Pains of Growing and a third Juno statuette in the Songwriter of the Year category.
Shawn Mendes took the title of Single of the Year, for the third year in a row, and Artist of the Year for the second consecutive year. Tory Lanez maintained his reign of the Rap Recording of the Year category, marking his third consecutive win, as well as being the first artist to win in both the Rap Recording and R&B/Soul Recording categories (where he was a co-winner alongside Jessie Reyez) in the same year. For the second consecutive year, nine-time Juno winner Avril Lavigne won the Fan Choice Award and Regina based The Dead South made their province of Saskatchewan proud by taking home the trophy for Traditional Roots Album of the Year.

First-time winners dominated the ranks taking home 26 of the evening’s 42 awards.

Alexandra Stréliski (Instrumental Album of the Year), Angela Schwarzkopf (Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber), Big Block Singsong (Children’s Album of the Year), Billie Eilish (International Album of the Year), Ben Kaplan (Jack Richardson Producer of the Year), Celeigh Cardinal (Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year Presented by APTN), Chad Moldenhauer, Ian Clarke, Warren Clark (Album Artwork of the Year), Dawn Tyler Watson (Blues Album of the Year), Djely Tapa (World Music Album of the Year),  Dominique Fils-Aimé (Vocal Jazz Album of the Year), Ernesto Cervini’s Turboprop (Jazz Album of the Year: Group), Felix Cartal (Dance Recording of the Year), Half Moon Run (Adult Alternative Album of the Year), iskwē (Music Video of the Year, Jacques Kuba Séguin (Jazz Album of the Year: Solo), Lennon Stella (Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Les Louanges (Francophone Album of the Year), Lyndon John X (Reggae Recording Album of the Year),  Matt Maher (Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year), Meghan Patrick (Country Album of the Year), Neon Dreams (Breakthrough Group of the Year, Pup (Alternative Album of the Year, Sarah Legault (Music Video of the Year Presented by Stingray), Sophie Buddle (Comedy Album of the year, and Striker (Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year) were all recognized with their first Juno statuettes.

In one of the most unique stories of the night, this year’s winner in the Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral category, the Ottawa Bach Choir conducted by Lisette Canton, calls The Governor General of Canada Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, a member of their choir.

Among the special presenter appearances: Chris Boucher from the 2019 NBA Championship team the Toronto Raptors; actor and musician, Finn Wolfhard, Juno Award winner and singer-songwriter Jessie Reyez, two-time Juno Award-winning soprano Measha Brueggergosman, Indigenous Music Summit founder, producer and Juno Award-winning artist with Digging Roots -  ShoShona Kish, and the Minister of Canadian Heritage The Honourable Steven Guilbeault.
-- For a complete winners list, click here.

Leave a comment