Tenille Townes Instagram shot
Tenille Townes Instagram shot

Tenille Townes Leads CCMA Nominations List

Fast-rising country star Tenille Townes leads the crop of contenders for the 2020 Canadian Country Music Awards (CCMAs) with six nominations. She is closely trailed by Brett Kissel and Dean Brody, with five nods apiece, and James Barker Band, The Reklaws, and Dallas Smith, all of whom earned four nominations. Cited in three award categories are Jade Eagleson, The Washboard Union, Hunter Brothers, and MacKenzie Porter.

The 38th Canadian Country Music Awards, presented by TD, will air September 27 at 9 p.m. on Global, and stream on the Global TV App. The Awards will be filmed in August in Burl's Creek Event Grounds (Ontario) — home to the 4-time CCMA Award-winning Boots and Hearts Music Festival — and Nashville TN. The show will feature performances, collaborations and promises some surprise moments, the show's producers hint. An air date has not been determined.

Of note: This year’s nominations see women represented in 91% of artist categories (where eligible), including TD Entertainer of the Year (Tenille Townes and Jenna Walker (The Reklaws)), Album of the Year (Tenille Arts and Meghan Patrick) and Fans’ Choice (MacKenzie Porter, Tenille Townes and Jenna Walker (The Reklaws)). 

Chosen by Canadian country music fans, Fan Choice nominees, announced July 21 on ET Canada, include Dean Brody, Jade Eagleson, Hunter Brothers, James Barker Band, Brett Kissel, MacKenzie Porter, The Reklaws, Dallas Smith, Tebey and Tenille Townes. Voting for Fans’ Choice is now open and voter execution can be done by visiting ccma.org/fanschoice. All rules and regulations for the voting process can also be found online.

To view a complete listing of the 2020 nominees, visit ccma.org

Fans are encouraged to follow updates for the 2020 CCMA Awards via TwitterInstagram and Facebook.

Leave a comment