CARAS image
CARAS image

Juno Analytics Show Many More Have Watched Since the Broadcast

CBC continues to rack up viewers for the 50th Annual Juno Awards show that first aired live on June 6 from 8-10 p.m. ET, reaching a total audience of 2.2 million on CBC TV, and over 400,000 on CBC Radio One and CBC Music, according to figures provided by CBC’s PR department.

The national celebration of Canadian music featured a mix of pre-recorded performances and special presentations with live nominee presenters and winner speeches. The 2020 Juno Awards was cancelled last March as the dangers of the new pandemic swept the globe. Those wins were announced last summer during a “speech-less” virtual event.

The Sunday night Juno broadcast had 550,000 viewers on CBC TV, and another 250,000 watched the encore broadcast in Alberta and British Columbia, as well as PVR recordings, for a total of 800,000.

An average audience of almost 100,000 tuned in to CBC Radio and CBC Radio One, a 7% increase over the average radio audience for the 2019 Junos.

The television and radio data was collected by Numeris, which calculates broadcast measurements, and the digital audio stats by Adobe analytics and Facebook Creator Studio.

 The TV viewership peaked an hour and 45 minutes into the awards with 1,032,000 tuning in to see The Tragically Hip receive the Humanitarian Award, presented by Music Canada.

The show has also been streamed nearly 200,000 times on CBC Gem, CBC Listen, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter and TikTok, with YouTube views up 14% over 2019. On the night of the awards, CBC Music’s Facebook page reached 3.8 million people with 740,000 engagements.

The sources are as follows:

Numeris TV Meter, June 6, 2021, Total TV English, P2+, Sun 8p-10p, Total Canada, AMA, generated by InfoSys+TV;

Numeris Radio PPM, Total Canada, Radio 1+ CBC Music, Sunday, June 6th, 9-11p AT, 8-10p ET, 7-9p CT, 6-8p MT & 5-7p PT,  P2+ AMA & Reach;

Digital Audio Source: Adobe Analytics. Live streams by region for 6/6/2021. / Source: Facebook Creator Studio, June 6, 2021

Leave a comment