2021 Polaris Music Prize Shortlist Announced

On Thursday (July 15), organizers of the Polaris Music Prize announced the 10 albums short-listed for the $50K prize, with the ultimate winner to be announced on Sept. 27.

Every year since 2006, the PMP has been awarded to a Canadian album of distinction, without regard to musical genre or commercial popularity. The nine runners-up from the short list each receive $3,000, provided by Slaight Music.

Presenting sponsor of the Awards is CBC Music. Major sponsors are as follows: FACTOR, the Government of Canada, Slaight Music, and Radio StarMaker Fund.

The 2021 Polaris Music Prize Short List nominees, as follows::

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson – Theory of Ice

Cadence Weapon – Parallel World

DijahSB – Head Above The Waters

Dominique Fils-Aimé – Three Little Words

Mustafa – When Smoke Rises

The OBGMs – The Ends

Klô Pelgag – Notre-Dame-des-Sept-Douleurs

TOBi – Elements Vol. 1

The Weather Station – Ignorance

Zoon – Bleached Wavves


Past winners of the annual Award include Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy, aka Owen Pallett, (2006).

Leave a comment