Facebook photo
Facebook photo

Prism Prize Eligible Video: Ada Lea - Damn

The 2021 Prism Prize for Best Canadian Music Video was recently awarded to Theo Kapodistrias, for his clip for Haviah Mighty’s Thirteen. We will continue to profile noteworthy Canadian videos that were eligible for the prize, including this one from a Montreal singer/songwriter.

Ada Lea - Damn

Alexandria Levy, better known as Ada Lea, is a Canadian singer/songwriter based in Montreal. Her music is a fusion of distinguished acoustic-guitar melodies, belligerent distortion, and many more musical styles. 

Her latest single and video for Damn comes from her second album one hand on the steering wheel the other sewing a garden, which is set to release soon. The song is presented in a way that features the lyrics performed as spoken word, letting the listener hear exactly what is being said and is able to take it all in. 

The video, directed by photographer Monse Muro, begins with a couple lying down in bed. At first glance it seems as if they may have had some sort of falling out. When the male tries to touch her she is hesitant to accept that touch. The lyrics speak to a party that Lea has been invited to, and as they take a darker turn so does the video. With an intense dance sequence you come to the realization that the protagonist is quite in her own head, trying to free her thoughts, she then gets up and leaves as if nothing has happened. 

Directed by Monse Muro

With: Axelle “Ebony” Munezero & Philip Rurka 

Producer: Monse Muro

Cinematographer: Juliette Lossky

Choreographers: Axelle “Ebony” Munezero & Brittney Canda

1st Camera Assistant: William Tétreault

Sound Design: Peter Hostak

Colour Grading: Simon Bøisx

Editor: Étienne Lacelle

Music and Lyrics: Alexandra Levy

Produce : Marshall Vore & Alexandra Levy

Engineered by: Marshall Vore

Additional recording by: Alexandra Levy, Sam Gleason, Steve Newton

Mixed: Burke Reid

Mastered: Heba Kadry

Alexandra Levy: guitar, vocals 

Johanna Samuels, Cedric Noel, Hanorah, Sarah Beth Tomberlin : back vocals

Harrison Whitford: guitar, bass

Christian Lee Hutson : keys

Marshall Vore: percussion

Tasy Hudson: drums

Leave a comment