Facebook photo
Facebook photo

2022 Prism Prize Eligible Video: Charlotte Day Wilson

The 2021 Prism Prize for Best Canadian Music Video was awarded to Theo Kapodistrias, for his clip for Haviah Mighty’s Thirteen. We will continue to profile noteworthy Canadian videos that are eligible for the 2022 prize, including this one from a highly-regarded Toronto R&B singer/songwriter.


Charlotte Day Wilson - Keep Moving 

Charlotte Day Wilson is a Torontonian singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist who seamlessly blends R&B, pop, jazz, and more into her music. Over the years, she has collaborated with many other Toronto-based artists, including BabBadNotGood and Daniel Caesar. Keep Moving is a single off of Charlotte Day Wilson’s debut LP Alpha and helps to set the tone for the project.

Wilson’s video for Keep Moving, directed by herself and Kevan Funk, puts dance front and centre for the majority of its runtime. Between an abandoned Toronto subway station and the highlighted darkness of a home, the video flits between two dancers, with notably different styles and equally amazing outfits. While dance is the focus of most of the video, interspersed between it are moments of love and intimacy that give a taste of the powerful climax to come. These people and more return late on in the video in heartwarming depictions of queer love and power that swell alongside the music in a glorious crescendo and make for a perfect end to the video.

Read more about Wilson here


Directed by: Charlotte Day Wilson, Kevan Funk

Producers: Lindsay Goeldner, Dan Montgomery, Candice Napoleone

Executive Producer: Jordan Evans

Editors: Charlotte Day Wilson, Cy McLellan

Cinematography: Peter Hadfield, Rico Moran, Hayden Mason, John Ker, Jeremy Cox

Associate Producer: Jalana Lewis

1st AC: Matthew Veen, Alex Clark

2nd AC: Darrell Wonge

Still Photographer: Grady Mitchell

Production Designers: Karlyn Koeser, Dominika Monicka

Set Dressers: Ines Benhamida, Ysabel Seclen

Costume Designer: Hanna Puley

Dykes on Bikes Concept: Marina Nedic

Mask Artist: Sarah Sitkin

Wardrobe Stylist: Bobby Bowen

Hair and Makeup: Andi Clifford

Special FX makeup: Daniella Pluchino

Location Manager: Jonathan Kok

Production Assistants: Luke Nairn, Tom Wood

Colour Facility: Studio Feather

Colourist: Ana Escorse

Featuring: Tynomi Banks, Dre Govender, Bambii, Dykes on Bikes (Susan J. Wells, Sapna Mahboobani, Colleen Kenny, Tessa Nangle, Allyson Miller, Tracy Lauren, C. McCartney, April White, Stacey Shannon), CJ Clark, Cooper Scott, Sarah Hutton, Aleda DeRoche, Sophie Sabet, Cynn Adereti, Melisse Watson, Juno Zavitz, Oliver Adams, Alexa Hollingsworth, Brooke Gangbar, J Stead, Kailey Gilchrist, Emma Teitel, Ella Rowan

Leave a comment