Polaris Music Prize Shortlist Is Announced

The Polaris Music Prize has named the 10 albums on the 2022 Short List, with the winner announced at an event taking place September 19 at The Carlu in Toronto.
The 2022 Polaris Music Prize Short List as follows:
Pierre Kwenders - José Louis And The Paradox Of Love
Lisa Leblanc - Chiac Disco
Hubert Lenoir - PICTURA DE IPSE : Musique directe
Kelly McMichael - Waves
Ombiigizi - Sewn Back Together
Ouri - Frame of a Fauna
Shad - TAO
Snotty Nose Rez Kids - Life After
Charlotte Day Wilson - ALPHA
With the announcement of the 10 nominated albums, CBC Music is broadcasting a Short List Summer dive into the records and the artists who made the cut. Short List Summer will be anchored by CBC Music’s The Ten as a series of one-hour weekly radio specials hosted by A. Harmony, broadcasting each Sunday on CBC Music and CBC Listen at 6:00 p.m. (6:30 NT) starting July 17 and concluding September 18. The first episode of THE TEN featured Shad, the only artist to have ever made the Polaris Short List on five separate occasions

The prize awards $50,000 to the artist earning distinction with Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales. The nine other nominated acts whose albums make the 2022 Short List will receive $3,000 each courtesy of Slaight Music.

Additionally, Polaris Music Prize has partnered with Play MPE to award the winning artist with a global music promotion distribution package for one release (single or album) worth up to $3,025 CAD. Play MPE will also gift all nine remaining Short List artists with distribution packages worth up to $1,000 CAD each.

An independent jury of music media from across Canada determines the Long List and Short List. Eleven people from the larger jury pool are then chosen to serve on the Grand Jury. This Grand Jury convenes at the Polaris Gala to select the Polaris Music Prize winner.
The past winners are Cadence Weapon (2021), Backxwash (2020), Haviah Mighty (2019), Jeremy Dutcher (2018), Lido Pimienta (2017), Kaytranada (2016), Buffy Sainte-Marie (2015), Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy / Owen Pallett (2006).

General admission tickets to the Polaris Gala are currently available via Ticketmaster. More information on Polaris here 

Leave a comment