March 21, 2020
by External Source

The COVID-19 crisis has led the CSHF to move its celebration of Kim Mitchell and Pye Dubois to September, as part of the new dates for CMW. The org pledges to remains steadfast in its commitment to finding new opportunities to honour 2020 inductee Ron Hynes and more Canadian songwriters and songs.

February 19, 2020
by FYI Staff

The Go For A Soda hitmaker is being recognized for his work with Max Webster and as a platinum-selling solo artist. The induction takes place at CMW’s Canadian Music & Broadcast Industry Awards on May 21 in Toronto.

Andy Kim
November 15, 2019
by Kerry Doole

Andy Kim (pictured) hosts two star-studded holiday charity concerts, Saskatchewan Music Awards noms are announced, and Sarah Harmer returns with her first album in a decade. Others in the news include Edmonton Arts Council, CSHF, Winterruption, Anders, Indie Week, Del Barber, SOCAN, Michelle Titian, and MusicOntario. With video.

Lowell receives her award
October 10, 2019
by FYI Staff

Presented by the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame, the prestigious honour celebrates the current achievements and future potential of rising Canadian songwriters. This year it goes to a Toronto pop songsmith and a Montreal multi-instrumentalist. Pictured: Lowell

 Jason McCoy
October 7, 2019
by Kerry Doole

Tickets are on sale soon for the 2020 CMAOntario Awards hosted by Jason McCoy (pictured),  the CSHF will induct classic Toronto songs, and The Violins of Hope head to Montreal. Also in the news are SRC Vinyl, Winnipeg Public Library, Indie Week, JazzAhead, Wolf Den, and farewell to Larry Willis, Larry Junstrom, Diahann Carroll, and Ginger Baker.

Matt Boudreau
September 16, 2019
by Kerry Doole

Les Hôtesses d'Hilaire, Matt Boudreau (pictured)  and Tomato/Tomato lead the MNB Awards noms, Harmonium to enter the CSHF, and Ellis shines at Supercrawl. Others in the news include HMV, Shawn Mendes, ZipDJ, Dundurn Press, Rod Stewart, Esthero, Indie Week, Miloš, Grimes, Music PEI, Jean-Paul De Roover, and farewell to Ric Ocasek, Hossam Ramzy, and Eddie Money.

Notre Dame  Facebook photo
April 19, 2019
by Kerry Doole

Universal Music France has quickly released an album to support the rebuilding of Notre-Dame (pictured), Madonna is back in the news, and the ECMAs and CSHF honour Stan Rogers and Lennie Gallant. Others in the headlines include MMF, TJO, Music BC, Music Nova Scotia, Erin Benjamin, ECMA survey, Tucker Lane, Blues Music Awards, Junos, and TBS.

Stompin' Tom Connors
October 26, 2018
by Kerry Doole

The Stompin’ Tom (pictured) hockey classic enters the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame, After The Storm benefit is coming to Ottawa, and Carole Pope and Kevin Hearn deliver a protest song. Also in the news are CMW, Drake, Hugh's Room Live, Derek Andrews, Creative Manitoba, Shuffle Demons, Schmoozefest, Project WILD, Rogers Hometown Hockey, Ann Vriend, Meghan Patrick, Ethan Ardelli, and a farewell to Tony Joe White. Videos included for your enjoyment.

Shawn Mendes
October 15, 2018
by Kerry Doole

Shawn Mendes (pictured) covers Queen, a Spirit of the West classic is honoured, and St. John's will host the 2020 ECMAs. Others in the news include Ally Noseworthy, the Practically Hip, Apple, Asaii, Nate Husser, Matador Ballroom, RADIO, and The Standstills. Videos added for your enjoyment.

August 17, 2018
by Kerry Doole

The shortlist for the Allan Slaight Juno Master Class is announced, Polaris Prize names the performers and jurors, and Ottawa urban music gets a playlist. Others in the news include Nova Scotia Music Week, Robert Paquette, CSHF, RPM Live, John and Yoko, HUFF, Lindsay Beaver, MusicNL Week, and a farewell to Randy Rampage. Videos added for your enjoyment.


Shawn Mendes at last year's VMAs
August 3, 2018
by Kerry Doole

Shawn Mendes (pictured) will perform at the VMAs in NYC, Honey Jam returns, and CNW showcase applications are now open. Others in the news include Daisy Peterson Sweeney, Music PEI, Ron Mann, Ron Sexsmith, Joe Robertson, Manitoba Music, CNE, Tragedy Ann, and Harrison Brome. Videos added for your enjoyment.

February 1, 2018
by Bill King

The executive director of the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame brings a wealth of experience and boundless enthusiasm to the role. In this interview, she looks back on a fascinating career in radio and ahead to ambitious plans for the organisation.